Emergencies: Call 911

Non-Emergency & General Inquiries: (902) 563-5151

Serving With You - For You

We serve and protect for safe and healthy communities through leadership, partnerships and engagement and we believe in maintaining law and order through: ethics and professionalism, accountability and transparency, inclusion and diversity, and collaboration and community spirit.

Media Releases

Constable Burns, a 25-year veteran of the Cape Breton Regional Police Service, was selected as this year’s recipient in recognition of his ongoing commitment to youth in the community. He’s helped raise over $400,000 as Volunteer Coordinator for Safe Grad Programs; he ran the Dominion Boys and Girls Club for 20 years; and he continues to mentor youth in the community, encouraging several to pursue a career in policing.  

“Through his dedicated volunteerism, community leadership and commitment to the fair treatment of youth, Constable Dennis Burns demonstrates the core values that Campy Crawford instilled in policing,” Cape Breton Regional Police Chief Peter McIsaac. “It is a great pleasure to present this award to such a great role model for our police service.”

The Cape Breton Regional Police Service established this award in honour and memory of Carl “Campy” Crawford, after his passing in 2003. A long time resident of Whitney Pier, Nova Scotia, “Campy” was well-known and respected by the community. He exemplified fair play and teamwork, and was a role model to many, always mindful of fairness, equality and a commitment to justice. “Campy” joined the Sydney Police Service in 1964, becoming the first black municipal police officer in Nova Scotia and east of Montreal. The award is presented annually to a recipient who exemplifies leadership and commitment to justice, fairness, volunteerism, sportsmanship and equality in their community.

The Campy Crawford Award Selection Committee includes: Sergeant Barry Gordon, Diversity Officer for the Cape Breton Regional Police Service; Eileen Smith-Pioveson, Human Rights Officer for Cape Breton University; Shannon Tarr, Human Rights Officer for the Nova Scotia Human Rights Commission; and, Scott Thomas, Diversity Officer for the Cape Breton Regional Municipality.  

The award presentation will take place at the 13th Annual Harmony Breakfast – “Shoulder to Shoulder We Stand-Ending Racism” – hosted by the Cape Breton University, CBRM Diversity Office, Nova Scotia Human Rights Commission and Cape Breton Regional Police Service at the Verschuren Centre for Sustainability in Energy & the Environment.